The Book Love Tag

THE

Ah, romance… Literally my biggest weakness when it comes to books. If it has a good romance in it, I’m completely sold (even a little bit obsessive).

I was tagged by the wonderful Reg over at She Latitude (I love her and think both she and her blog are absolutely brilliant).

This tag has enabled me to talk about one of my favorite bookish topics: couples and romance in books.

Your favorite book couple

heir of fireDamn. This is hard.

Because it’s so fresh in my mind, right now, I’ll have to go with Rowan and Aelin from the Throne of Glass series. I just really love how they interact with each other.

Verbal sparring? Check.

Insane chemistry? Check.

A bond that can’t be broken? Double check.

Your top 3 book boy/girlfriends.

Khalid Ibn al-Rashid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh – Passionate and loyal to a fault. What’s not to love?

Peter Kavinsky from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – Peter is just so kind to everyone around him, and, although he tries not to show it, he cares deeply about everything.

Zachary Goode from the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter – I think the fact that he’s both a spy and really hot is answer enough.

Imagine your favourite book couple. Who would propose, and how? (If there’s already been a proposal: who would be more into organising the wedding?)

tumblr_nv4djpVypZ1rhjo0to1_500

Fanart by ashiibell on Tumblr

Well, seeing as the Fae don’t really get married, they just have mates, I guess there wouldn’t necessarily be a marriage?

But if there was, for this post’s sake, a marriage, Rowan and Aelin would somehow try to propose to each other at the same time in order to try to beat the other. They’re both really competitive, so I can see them trying to be the first one to propose.

But then, when they finally did propose to each other, it would be one of the most heartfelt and moving declarations of love because Rowan and Aelin love each other so deeply.

Like I would probably cry.

Name a popular pairing you can’t stand

Tris and Four from Divergent by Veronica Roth – I honestly don’t know what’s wrong with me. I like Four as a character. I like Tris as a character. But I don’t really like when they’re together. I don’t really know how to explain it.

What’s your favourite and least favourite romance trope?

Favorite:

  • Fake dating
  • Enemies → friends → lovers

Least favorite:

  • Insta-love… Slow-burn romances are the best romances.

Do you ship non-canon couples often? Name some if you do.

red queenI’m pretty sure that I ship more non-canon couples than canon couples to be completely honest. I just really like the idea of finding two people in book series that the author didn’t pair romantically, and making those non-platonic the connections. It makes reading even more fun than it is.

Maven and Mare from Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – They kissed once and then *SPOILER* he betrayed her. However, somehow, I still really love Maven, and I really want them to reconcile and be together. Does that make me a bad person?

Your opinion on love triangles. Go!

Love triangles are honestly one of my biggest weaknesses in YA. I mean, it has to be well-written, of course, for it to really draw me in, but I’m a big sucker for them. Dorian/Celaena/Chaol in Throne of Glass? Give it to me. Maven/Mare/Cal in Red Queen? Beautiful in every way. Warner/Juliette/Adam in Shatter Me? PERFECTION.

Favourite and least favourite love triangle?

13455782My favorite love triangle is probably Warner/Juliette/Adam from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. That is the perfect example of a well-written love triangle. It’s unique in that it goes the way that, in most cases, you wouldn’t necessarily expect it to go.

For least favorite, I guess I’m going to have to go with a super basic answer: Edward/Bella/Jacob from Twilight. It’s so predictable that it’s boring.

Sometimes romance just isn’t the way to go. Favourite friendship?

Celaena and Lysandra from the Throne of Glass series -Since I’m listening to Queen of Shadows right now, Throne of Glass is really fresh in my mind. I looooove how these two interact with each other. They’re sassy, blatantly honest with each other, and have a female camaraderie between them that I really like.

What’s your favourite scene with your bookish OTP?

It’s definitely Rowan and Celaena’s first training session together. Both of them are so witty and sarcastic, so the verbal sparring between them is on point. This pairing goes right along with one of my favorite romance tropes: enemies → friends → lovers

She made herself give a little smile, her best attempt at a dutiful, eager expression. “Do your worst.”

He looked her over from head to toe: the mist-damp shirt, now icy against her puckered skin, the equally stained and damp paints, the position of her feet…

“Wipe that smarmy, lying smile off your face.” His voice was as dead as his eyes, but it had a razor-sharp bite behind it

She kept her smarmy, lying smile. “I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

He stepped toward her, the canines coming out this time. “Here’s your first lesson, girl: cut the horseshoe. I don’t feel like dealing with it, and I’m probably the only one who doesn’t give a damn about how angry and vicious and awful you are underneath.”

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, pg. 100

So much sass

Imagine your favourite book couple again. Who’s most excited about Valentine’s Day (either ironically or genuinely)?

Celaena is probably the one who gets excited, if only a little. Celaena gets excited because she’ll probably get a lot of chocolate out of this. Rowan doesn’t really get all of the hype surrounding the holiday.

Who do I tag?

Cody @ Roecker Reviews

Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews

Brittany @ Book Addicts Guide

 

2 thoughts on “The Book Love Tag

  1. Deborah @ Hills of Books says:

    Great post, so much ToG so how could I not love it?!! Ahh! I kind of hope we get a Rowan and Aelin proposal I would probably be a total mess by the end of it but the readers need this. *must find fan fic, surely it must exist!?*

    I have mixed feelings about Zachary Goode, I loved that he was mysterious and a spy and all that cool stuff, but I always felt as though I didn’t get to know him that well. I wanted more scenes with him in – this is a series I haven’t read in ages I think it might be time for a re-read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

