Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Obsidian
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 361
Publication: November 23, 2011
Goodreads Rating: 4.42/5

So lately I’ve been obsessing over this author. I mean, my last review was the first book in her other series, but Jennifer Armentrout definitely deserves the fangirling. Although it’s by the same author, Obsidian is extremely different from Half-Blood. While Half-Blood is Greek mythology and things associated with it, Obsidian is, well… aliens.


Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is.



Books with or about aliens, although not a new genre, was definitely new to me. I never even thought that I would like it to be honest. I was really skeptical to read this because of it. But, Armentrout made me enjoy the whole concept extremely well and made me fall in love with this book.

The thing I love most about her writing is her characters. They’re always written very well. Katy is a character that any book nerd could identify with (which is practically every person reading this book.) Also, her progression throughout the book is great. I love that she goes from being this safe and timid girl to someone who’s not afraid to take risks and is willing to lay down her life for the people she loves.

There is only one word to describe Daemon Black: hothothothothothothothothothothot (that’s one word, right?) He is honestly one of the hottest and hilarious and caring and sarcastic characters I’ve ever read, and I LOVE HIM. Armentrout has an extreme talent of writing extremely hot guys (*cough*AidenandSeth*cough*). Like Katy, his character progression is just as amazing. As the book goes along, you see more and more of the real him. The rest of the characters are just as amazing and well built, even if I may want to stab them multiple times…

At some times in the story, things could get a little slow. But once you get passed those parts, all you want to do is keep reading. This book is definitely a thrilling page turner with a romance that’ll make you absolutely swoon. Jennifer never fails to make me fall in love with her writing, and this book was not an exception. She effortlessly laces in the action and romance flawlessly in this book, as well as the rest of the series.

If you want a book that’s full of action and has tons of hot chemistry and romance, then this one is definitely for you. You can buy the book from Amazon here.

Author Website: http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/
Twitter: @jlarmentrout
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JenniferLArmentrout

Leave a Reply

